Knitting for Kiddo

I don’t knit a lot for other people. If I’m going to put the time and effort into a hand knit item, I want to make sure the person receiving it will properly appreciate all the effort. As hard as it is for me to understand, some people just don’t place the same value on handmade items. There’s nothing really wrong with that, but I’m not going to spend hours knitting something for those people.

There is a select group that I have no problem knitting for. Both my mom and my mother-in-law (usually) get hand knit socks for birthday presents (though I’m way behind on that this year). Husband has a pair of hand knit hunting socks. I’ve made things for my stepmother, sisters, nieces, and nephews. And, of course Kiddo.

In his short life, Kiddo has collected a pretty good pile of hand knits. He has a teddy bear, a stuffed cow, multiple blankets, hats, and sweaters. Some of these things he likes, some he was less than thrilled with.

However, this winter, he requested that I make his winter hat and mittens. I was happy to oblige. He is really into dinosaurs right now, so I found a this pattern for a hat with dinosaur spikes and this pattern for the matching mittens. I showed pictures to Kiddo, and he approved.

I found some washable, sturdy yarns in colors that would coordinate nicely with his coat, which is grey with a teal lining and started knitting away. I made the first hat in the toddler size, and it came out too small. I tossed that one on the hat & mitten tree my bank puts up every year and started again, this time using the child size.

Kiddo was thrilled with the results.

Kiddo was thrilled with the results! He loves wearing his hat, and if anyone comments on it, he is sure to tell them that his mom made it. He also likes to warn people to watch out for his spikes, because they are super sharp!

Of course, he needs matching mittens.

I think the whole ensemble came together quite nicely, even if my model was sometimes less than cooperative (this is the best picture I could get out of him wearing both the hat and mittens).

Next up, Kiddo has requested a shark tale blanket. This is the one I’m planning on making for him.

One comment

  1. Love it! I want a set for me!

    Like

Leave a comment

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

mud&string

throwing pots and making knots